Person

Michel Rappaz

Biography

After a PhD in solid state physics (1978) at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) and a post-doc at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Michel Rappaz joined the Institute of Materials of EPFL in 1981. After two years in an engineering company, he came back to EPFL in 1984 where he was nominated Adjunct Professor in 1990 and Full Professor in 2003. He retired from EPFL in 2015 and is now Emeritus Professor and independent consultant for several industries and research centres.

His main interests are in phase transformations and solidification, in particular the coupling of macroscopic aspects of heat and mass transfer with microscopic aspects of microstructure and defect formation. Among his diverse achievements, one can mention in particular the development of cellular automata for grain structure predictions and of granular models for hot tearing formation in castings, the coupling of Finite Element method with microscopic models of nucleation and growth, the application of the phase field method to the understanding of various microstructures, the discovery of quasicrystal mediated-nucleation in alloys, and many other studies both fundamental at the microstructure-defect level and more applied at the level of processes.

Some of the software developments have been commercialized by a spin-off company founded by his group in 1991 (Calcom SA), now part of the French company ESI. Michel Rappaz initiated in 1992 an annual postgraduate course on solidification which has been attended by more than 900 participants from all over the world. He is presently collaborating closely with another spin-off company started from his group, Novamet SàrL.

Michel Rappaz has received several awards, in particular the Mathewson co-author award (1994) and author award (1997) of the American Mineral, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), the Koerber foundation award jointly with Profs Y. Bréchet and M. Asbby (1996), the Sainte-Claire Deville Medal (1996) and the Grand Medal (2011) from the French Materials Society, the Bruce Chalmers Award of TMS (2002), the Mc Donald Memorial Lecture award of Canada (2005), the FEMS European Materials Gold Medal (2013) and the Brimacombe Prize of TMS (2015). He is a highly-cited author of ISI, a fellow of ASM, IOP and TMS, and has co-authored more than 200 publications and two books.

About this result
This page is automatically generated and may contain information that is not correct, complete, up-to-date, or relevant to your search query. The same applies to every other page on this website. Please make sure to verify the information with EPFL's official sources.
Related units

Loading

Courses taught by this person

Loading

Related research domains

Loading

Related publications

Loading

People doing similar research

Loading

Personne

Michel Rappaz

Biographie

Après un doctorat en physique du solide (1978) de l’Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), un post-doc à Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Michel Rappaz rejoint l’Institut des matériaux de l’EPFL en 1981. Après un passage de deux ans dans un bureau d’ingénieurs, il revient à l’EPFL en 1984 où il est nommé Professeur titulaire en 1990, puis Professeur ordinaire en 2003. Après sa retraite de l’EPFL en 2015, il est actuellement Professeur émérite et consultant indépendant auprès de divers centres de recherche et industries.

Ses principaux centres d’intérêt sont les transformations de phase et la solidification, en particulier le couplage des aspects macroscopiques de transferts de chaleur et de masse à l’échelle des procédés avec les aspects microscopiques de germination-croissance des microstructures et des défauts. Parmi ses diverses réalisations, on peut mentionner le développement d’Automates Cellulaires couplés avec la méthode d’Eléments Finis (modèle CAFE) pour la prédiction des structures de grains en solidification, le développement de modèles granulaires pour la fissuration à chaud, l’application de la méthode de champ de phase pour la compréhension de diverses microstructures, la découverte de la germination assistée dans certains alliages par des phases quasicrystallines, ainsi que de nombreuses études touchant aussi bien les aspects fondamentaux de formation des structures que des aspects plus appliqués des procédés.

Certains modèles développés dans son laboratoire ont été commercialisés par une spin-off fondée en 1991 (Calcom SA), faisant partie actuellement du groupe français ESI. Michel Rappaz a initié en 1992 un cours annuel de formation continue en solidification, suivi à ce jour par plus de 900 participants venant d’une quarantaine de pays. Il collabore actuellement avec une autre spin-off du laboratoire fondée en 2014, Novamet SàrL.

Michel Rappaz a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions, en particulier le prix Mathewson de co-auteur (1994) et auteur (1997) de l’American Mineral, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), le prix de la fondation Koerber avec les Profs Y. Bréchet et M. Asbby (1996), la médaille Sainte-Claire Deville (1996) et la Grande Médaille (2011) de la Société Française des Matériaux (SF2M), le prix Bruce Chalmers de la TMS (2002), le prix Mc Donald Memorial Lecture du Canada (2005), la médaille d’or de la Société Européenne des Matériaux (FEMS, 2013) et le prix Brimacombe de la TMS (2015). Il fait partie des “Highly-Cited Authors” de ISI, il est fellow des sociétés ASM, IOP et TMS, et a écrit plus de 200 publications et deux livres.

À propos de ce résultat
Cette page est générée automatiquement et peut contenir des informations qui ne sont pas correctes, complètes, à jour ou pertinentes par rapport à votre recherche. Il en va de même pour toutes les autres pages de ce site. Veillez à vérifier les informations auprès des sources officielles de l'EPFL.
Unités associées

Chargement

Cours enseignés par cette personne

Chargement

Domaines de recherche associés

Chargement

Publications associées

Chargement

Personnes menant des recherches similaires

Chargement