Concept

Ideal (order theory)

Summary
In mathematical order theory, an ideal is a special subset of a partially ordered set (poset). Although this term historically was derived from the notion of a ring ideal of abstract algebra, it has subsequently been generalized to a different notion. Ideals are of great importance for many constructions in order and lattice theory. Definitions A subset I of a partially ordered set (P, \leq) is an ideal, if the following conditions hold:

I is non-empty,

for every x in I and y in P, y ≤ x implies that y is in I  (I is a lower set),

for every x, y in I, there is some element z in I, such that x ≤ z and y ≤ z  (I is a directed set).

While this is the most general way to define an ideal for arbitrary posets, it was originally defined for lattices only. In this case, the following equivalent definition can be given: a subset I of a
About this result
This page is automatically generated and may contain information that is not correct, complete, up-to-date, or relevant to your search query. The same applies to every other page on this website. Please make sure to verify the information with EPFL's official sources.
Related publications

Loading

Related people

Loading

Related units

Loading

Related concepts

Loading

Related courses

Loading

Related lectures

Loading

Concept

Idéal (théorie des ordres)

Résumé
En mathématiques, un idéal au sens de la théorie des ordres est un sous-ensemble particulier d'un ensemble ordonné. Bien qu'à l'origine ce terme soit issu de la notion algébrique d'idéal d'un anneau, il a été généralisé en une notion distincte. Les idéaux interviennent dans beaucoup de constructions en théorie des ordres, en particulier des treillis. Définitions
Un idéal d'un ensemble ordonné (E, ≤) est une partie non vide I de E telle que :
  • I est une section commençante, c'est-à-dire que tout minorant d'un élément de I appartient à I ;
  • I est un ensemble ordonné filtrant, c'est-à-dire que deux éléments quelconques de I possèdent toujours un majorant commun dans I.
Cette définition étend aux ordres quelconques la définition originelle d'idéal d'un treillis : Si l'ordre (E, ≤) est un treillis — c'est-à-dire si toute paire {a, b} dans E possède une borne supérieure a⋁b et une borne inférieure a⋀b — une section commençante I est un idéal si et seulement si elle est stab
À propos de ce résultat
Cette page est générée automatiquement et peut contenir des informations qui ne sont pas correctes, complètes, à jour ou pertinentes par rapport à votre recherche. Il en va de même pour toutes les autres pages de ce site. Veillez à vérifier les informations auprès des sources officielles de l'EPFL.
Publications associées

Chargement

Personnes associées

Chargement

Unités associées

Chargement

Concepts associés

Chargement

Cours associés

Chargement

Séances de cours associées

Chargement